Introduction to our Governing Body

Governors are tasked with overseeing the long-term development of the school and provide strategic support and monitoring. Ultimately, all governor responsibilities come back to this brief and can be split into three core roles:

  • To support and challenge school decisions on all aspects;
  • To provide strategic management and monitor progress;
  • To make executive decisions e.g. financial and staffing and building.

The Full Governing Body Meetings and Committee Meetings are published below.

Who are our Governors?

Our governing body is made up of volunteers from staff, parents and the local community, who have a range of expertise between them which they bring to the various committees they sit on. There are six Full Governing Body meetings a year lasting about two hours each.

Each Governor sits on one or more sub committees which are most relevant to their background and expertise. Each committee has a specific range of briefs which determine what they do and monitor throughout the year. Committees also recommend policies to the Full Governing Body for ratification and report back on specific issues that they have discussed. Committees meet three or four times a year with meetings lasting about two hours each.

Our current Governors are: 

CHAIR: Mr A Parker
CO-OPTED GOVERNORS: Mr J Jones, Ms F Heming, Lady M Dunrossil, Mr R Hadley, Revd K Scott
PARENT GOVERNORS: Mr L Campbell Dr R Emsley, Mrs L Rowley, Dr C Riley ,
STAFF GOVERNORS:  Mr W Morgan (Principal, Ex Officio), Mr T Redding,
ASSOCIATE MEMBERS: Mrs A Everitt, Mrs M TyeMr C Edwards, Mr P White
TRUSTEES: Mr A Parker, Dr H Warren, Lady M Dunrossil

Trustees and Members of the Academy Trust report at every meeting, details of any pecuniary interest they may have. A record of Governors’ pecuniary interests is published below

How are our Governors elected?

Co-opted Governors are nominated and elected into office by the Governing Body.
Parent Governors are elected into office by the school’s parent body.
Staff Governors (teaching and non-teaching) are elected into office by all members of the school staff.
Associate Members are representatives of the school’s Senior Leadership Team (SLT) and are elected into office by the Governing Body but do not have voting rights.  They provide an invaluable insight into the daily running of the school.
Local Authority Governors are nominated by the Local Authority and elected into office by the Governing Body.
The Clerk to Governors is appointed by the Governing Body.

Please direct any correspondence to the Governors, via the Clerk as follows:
The Clerk to Governors, The Cotswold School, The Avenue, Bourton on the Water, Gloucestershire GL54 2BD
or via email:
or via telephone: 01451 820554.

Committee Membership 2019-2020

Read More
Read More

Meeting Dates 2019-2020

Read More
Read More

Attendance and Meetings 2018-2019

Read More
Read More

2019-2020 Publication of Governor Details - Pecuniary Interests

Read More
Read More

Link Governors and their role

Read More
Read More